Jackson Browne, cantautor

JacksonBrowne31

Jackson Browne

I think that songwriting is a chance to describe life in terms that you recognize and that you want other people to recognize, and that would include a lot of things. It would include songs about the beginnings or the ends of relationships, or it might include songs about social, or political situations (Jackson Browne).

Creo que escribir canciones es una oportunidad para describir la vida en términos que tu reconozcas, y que desees que otra gente reconozca. Eso incluiría muchas cosas. Incluiría canciones sobre los comienzos o los finales de las relaciones, o podría incluir canciones sobre situaciones sociales o políticas.

—— Seguir la canción de Jackson Browne en el enlace de You Tube ——

Sky blue and black

In the calling out to one another of the lovers up and down the strand,
in the sound of the waves and the cries of the seagulls circling the sand,
in the fragments of the songs carried down the wind from some radio, 
in the murmuring of the city in the distance, ominious and low,
I hear the sound of the world where we played
and the far too simple beauty of the promises we made.

If you ever need holding, call my name, I´ll be there,
if you ever need holding and no holding back, I´ll see you through
sky blue and black.

When the touch of the lover ends and the sound of the friend begins,
there is a need to be separate and a need to be one,
and a struggle never wins where you gave me the world I was in,
place could make a stand, could never see you doubted me
when I´d let go of your hand. Yeah, and I was much younger then 
and I must have thought that I would know if things were going to end. 

And the heavens were rolling like a wheel on a track, 

and our sky was unfolding and it´ll never fold back, sky blue and black.

And I´d have fought the world for you if I thought you wanted me to,
or put aside what was true or untrue
if I´d known that´s what you needed, what you need me to do.
But the moment has passed by me now to have put away my pride,
and just come through for you somehow. If you ever need holding, call my name, I´ll be there,if you ever need holding and no holding back,
I´ll see you through.

You´re the color of the sky reflected in each store-front window pane,
you´re the whispering and the sighing of my tyres in the rain,
you´re the hidden coast and the thing that´s lost in everything I do.
I´ll never stop looking for you in the sunlight and the shadows,
and the faces on the avenue, that´s the way love is,
that´s the way love is.
 

Cielo azul y negro

En la complicidad recíproca de los amantes paseando por la playa,
en el sonido de las olas y graznidos de gaviotas en la arena,
en las estrofas de las canciones en la radio llevadas por el viento,
en el murmullo de la ciudad en la distancia, inquietante y tenue…
escucho el sonido del mundo donde jugábamos,
y la lejana y débil belleza de las promesas que nos hicimos.

Si alguna vez necesitas apoyo, di mi nombre, y allí estaré,
si alguna vez necesitas ayuda incondicional y sin compromiso,
te veré a través del cielo azul y negro.

Cuando termina la relación del amante,
y comienza la personificación del amigo,
surge la necesidad de separarse y ser uno mismo,
una lucha sin vencedor en la que me diste
el mundo donde yo estaba, y un lugar para hacer una parada.
Nunca comprendí cómo dudaste de mi al dejarte ir.
Sí, yo era mucho más joven por entonces,
y debí pensar que sabía que todo iba a terminar.
Los cielos daban vueltas como rueda por el sendero,
y nuestro firmamento se iba ensanchando
para nunca plegarse, cielo azul y negro.

Me habría enfrentado al mundo por ti
si pensara que así lo querías,
o habría renunciado a lo que es correcto o incorrecto
si hubiera sabido que eso era lo que necesitabas,
lo que necesitabas que yo hiciera.
Pero el tiempo para dejar mi orgullo ya ha pasado,
y de alguna forma me viene sólo a través de ti.
Si alguna vez necesitas apoyo di mi nombre, y allí estaré.
Si alguna vez necesitas ayuda incondicional y sin compromiso,
así lo haré.

Eres del color del cielo reflejado en cada escaparate,
eres la costa escondida, y lo que me falta en todo lo que hago.
Nunca dejaré de buscarte a la luz del sol y en las sombras,
y en los rostros que pasan por la avenida.
Así, así es el amor.

_____________________________

© Selección y traducción de Antonio Fernández Ferrer

Responder

